Happy New Reading/Writing Year!

It was a year of slow reading for me. The pile of books on my bedroom shelf testifies for that. I still have Murakami’s 1Q84 there, Stephen King’s Time travel (which I’m actively reading), Anna-Karin Palm’s latest and a pocket I got for Christmas is the new add-on and these are just a few.

I did however listen to a lot of Audiobooks thanks to the wonderful service that is Storytel. I listened to The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I listened to many books by authors Michael Marshall Smith, John Ajvide Lindqvist, Camilla Läckberg, Mari Jungstedt, Vivica Sten, Mons Kallentoft, Kajsa Ingemarsson, Theodor Kallifatides, Charlaine Harris, Karin Alfredsson and Liza Marklund. I also listened to the Millennium series by Steig Larsson and The Twilight Series (and The Host) by Stehanie Mayer.

A lot of crime novels and was delighted to find that both Camilla Läckberg and Liza Marklund write incredible things about normal women. It was refreshing. Stieg Larsson I was prejudiced against from the start and wasn’t impressed at all. The last book is such shite that I’d rather not talk about it. And the hacker babe Lisbet Sallander who struggles with and solves Fermats Last Theorem is just way to 90’s for my taste. I half expected her to mumble “I know Kung-Fu” at any moment in the books. And Michael Blomkvist is more Bond than Bond himself, getting all the women and …

It was very enjoyable listening to Michael Marshall Smith‘s books and I wish to get my hands on more. John Ajvide Lindqvist is the first Swedish horror writer that I find really good (are there more? or is he alone?) and The Book Thief was magical.

I wish I could talk about Stephen King’s novel 22.11.63 but I haven’t finished it yet as I said. I am enjoying it very much however. And as for my favrorite writer Murakami, 1Q84 is waiting for that perfect time to be consumed. I need to have my time with it and with a demanding two year old that time is limited.

I didn’t get to write much either. I wrote a few short stories at the start of the year but the activity is hard to get into the tight schedule of diaper changing, reading books and otherwise entertaining my wonderful little girl. I am hoping to get more time to write in this new and shiny year however. I need to use the moments I get and get the ideas down and not just have them huddled in my head until it explodes. It won’t be a pretty sight, brain matter and letters everywhere.

So what I wish for this year, as I suspect I wished for last year, is more reading, more writing and more running! And less sugar. More cuddles and a wonderful year for my soon to be two year old girl and a prosperous year for my entire family.

Let it be so! And a very Happy New Year to you!

p.s. I could say a thing or two about The Twilight series too but fear it would overtake this little post. Let me just say that despite the bad writing the teenager that lies deep within me understood and that I did think The Host was a good one. Would make an even better film.

Leave a Reply

