HORNS by Joe Hill

“Ignatius Martin Parrish spent the night drunk and doing terrible things” is the opening line of HORNS by Joe Hill. And I don’t mind telling you that I was hooked from that moment on. I’ve been balancing this book one hand while breast feeding and I’ve been keeping it with me everywhere I go in case I get the chance to read.

This book is rock ‘n rolls answer to Dante’s INFERNO. This book is Rolling Stones’ “Sympathy For the Devil” to the core.

Ig is a normal guy with a sad and abnormal problem, his girlfriend is dead and everyone thinks he is to blame. The solution? To turn into a quite abnormal guy with a curious ability. The people around him start to tell him their deepest darkest secrets and longings, an ability he associates with the horns that have started to grow out of his head.

This is a story of crime, revenge, love and hate. It’s a tragic story, a violent story and it’s a story with a lot of happiness.

Reading it reminded me a little of shadow theater, with clear silhouettes, clear colors and themes. This might seem like a negative thing but it really makes the story come alive. Joe Hill uses every detail to elevate his story and each detail seems to make the tale bigger, each connotation on the theme used to make the story the delightful journey that it is.

I’m a sucker for stories based on people’s visions of hell or the devil so this story was a special treat for me but philosophically minded people will enjoy this story as much as I did and if you don’t care for the devil or philosophy then perhaps you’re a sucker for a good love story or just plain, good old fashioned action, this story has it all. So stop reading this poor excuse for a review, and go to your nearest bookstore and buy this book – it’s worth it. In fact I’m quite sure HORNS is going to be the best book I read this year.

Leave a Reply

