The Me, Me Meme

I was tagged by the lovely @Angpang in her blog and like she pointed out this is a good easy way to make an entry, great  for breaking up the seriousness of these past few entries of mine too.

So here goes:

1. What are your current obsessions?

Anyone who knows me a little knows I’m obsessed with books. I’m not a bibliophile I’m more of a bookworm (although I do think a good cover is very important in a book). As an aspiring writer I am constantly looking at other people’s works. Interested in how they came up with their ideas, how they write and why. Twitter is a great platform to know a little bit more about these things, so for the past few months I’ve been semi-obsessed with Twitter too.

2. What Items in your wardrobe do you most wear?

That’s easy, scarfs. I love scarfs. Although this is a relatively new thing with me (past two years or so) I’ve managed to gather a whole lot of different scarfs. I love them in all shapes, colors and sizes. Now during summer time though they lie mainly dormant in the drawer I still usually don’t go out without having one in my purse at least.. just in case. Scarfs are such usable things and not just good for wrapping around the neck.

3. The last thing you bought?

I bought a dress before a wedding I tended two weeks ago:

kjol
I couldn’t resist the  fabric and the pattern so I bought it and wore it to the wedding. It’s the perfect summer dress as you can put it in a bag without fearing that it will get nasty wrinkles. 😉

I also bought The Sims 3 game soon after it arrived in stores. I haven’t had the chance to play it much but The Sims game is something that’s easy to obsess about!I played Sims 2 a lot.

4. What are you listening to?

Right at this moment it’s silent around me. I’ve been enjoying a lot of great music lately though. Diary of Dreams are a band I discovered recently through blip.fm and I’m still going through their stuff on Spotify. And since it’s Summer Solstice here I’ve been listening to a lot of old Swedish music that I rarely listen to – summer songs you get sick of after a very short time but are great to listen to over the barbeque. Other names I can drop: Rammstein (always in my playlist), Katie Melua, Emiliana Torrini, Skunk Anansie and a little King’s of Leon.

6. Fave holiday spots?

As I am terribly afraid of flying I tend to dread holidays at first. It’s something I’m slowly trying to get over but it takes a lot of time and effort not to give into that fear. A two  years back though we were in Santorini for two weeks. We found a terrific hotel near the beach, which wasn’t too crowded and I could spend my days reading Salmon Rushdie and Dean Koontz. It was bliss.

I also love going to Iceland for the holidays and am ashamed to say that I do far to little of it. Iceland is a beautiful country and I miss it a lot of the time, traveling through it is not quite like traveling through other countries.

7. What are you reading?

*Deepbreath*
I am reading Breeding Ground by Sarah Pinbourough at the moment. It is a marvelous summer horror. I love the idea behind it. It’s hard to put down. I’m also reading Zafon’s Angel’s Game (still yes – I’m still savoring it!). A wonderful book by a wonderful writer. Other books on my nightstand are: Spares by Michael Marshall Smith (haven’t started it yetI’m going through a Twitter book phase 🙂), Crying of a Lot ’49 by Pynchon and Clive Barker’s Books of Blood are lying there too for a re-read.

8. Four words to describe you?

Stubborn and childish, writing bookworm.

9. Guilty Pleasure?

As I was ill last week I have to say TV. I watched just about anything that was on. From The Big Bang Theory (which was funnier than I anticipated after seeing just the first episode) to Sabrina the Teenage witch. But I’m better now so…

10. If you were God/Goddess who would you be?

I’ve always been interested in the Nordic goddess of the Underworld, Hel. The woman who rules the dead that Oðinn doesn’t take for himself. The woman who is beautiful on one half of her body but grotesque on the other. It may sound a bit macabre but she seems so well balanced with light and darkness.

11. Who/what makes you laugh until you are weak?

I have a strange sense of humor (I’m told). Childish cartoons often have me laughing my ass off. The Danish program ‘Sigurds Björnetimme’ is high on that list, hillarious program although I’m not quite sure the children think so (but why would they otherwise broadcast it?). Bad movies often entertain me to no end. I thought I was going to die with laughter when I saw Gandalf’s nose appear on screen after he becomes white in the first movie. The president speach in Independance Day ALWAYS cracks me up too (liked the movie!)

12. Fave spring thing to do?

Smell the birch when it rains? I don’t quite know. Spring often confuses me. I never know what to wear and am always out of sink somehow. I like taking photographs in springtime though but I guess that goes for every season.

13. When you die what would you like people to say about you at your funeral?

Nothing they hadn’t said to my face? I don’t care so much, I’d like to hear what they have to say before I die.

14. Best thing you ate and drank lately?

The midsummer cake was delicious – cream and daim topping.

15. When did you last go for a night out?

It’s been little of that lately as I have had other things to do but I did see Antichrist in the theater a while ago and had a nice meal before.

16. Fave film ever?

That’s hard. I could go with my old answer and say Interview with the Vampire. I love that movie. I still get chills as the camera gets close to the city and focuses in on the corner house with the great music playing.

17. Share some Wisdom:

Be ready to change your mind. Many things are lost because we are to stubborn to let go of what we used to think.

18. Song you can’t get out of your head:

The answer to that question is often Yellow Submarine by The Beatles. It sometimes just appears out of nowhere and sticks with me for days.

19. Thing you are looking forward to:

Summer vacation! More books. Life!

20. If you could change one detail from your past what would that be?

I’m not to fond of the idea of changing anything even though there are a few things I could think of. There are a few things I’d like to have done differently but where would I be then? I could say I’d like to have taken my writing more seriously sooner!

Tag you’re it…

.. if you read it and haven’t done this already consider yourself tagged!

I didn’t actually remove a question and add a new one but those are the meme rules.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Angpang says:

    Thanks for taking up the meme – we have a lot in common. Love that dress I too can be tempted by items you can scrunch not iron. Also big on the scarves, perhaps because you don’t have to starve yourself for two weeks to fit into them. Also loved the Books of Blood, read every story I am sure in my teen years, probably due a re-visit too. And Neil Jordan films – have got Interview with The Vampire on VCR and no VCR player, grrrr. So need to look at that again, shame I don’t fancy Messer’s Cruise or Pitt though.

    Angi

    Like

  2. Mae says:

    Great post. I might pinch this one off you to post on my sadly very out of date blog.

    I’ve been playing The Sims 3 too!! 🙂 Perhaps it might have contributed to my lengthy absence from the blogging world. It’s pretty good and new shiny Sims are always very exciting.

    I’m a quarter way in with Zafon and it’s marvellous. I love how his stories revolves around writing and books. It’s a bibliophile’s kind of book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

