But I wanted THAT book

Sooks

Listening to Hush Now (Stellas Tarantella) on Spotify trying to ignore the noise from my neighbors who insist on turning their base so high that it feels like the entire house (and it’s a big house) has a heartbeat all of its own. The sound is soothing and if I concentrate hard I can leave out the thump from above or below or wherever it is coming from today. I can recommend Over The Rhine as medicine against growing anger.

I’m a little melancholy today. A little heartbroken. Can you be a little heartbroken? Because I’m not very heartbroken, in fact this is a minor thing but on top of my slight fever and the upchucks it came as a little blow.

I went to the library to get a book I had requested to loan from the distance. I was overwhelmed at how easy it was, with one click of the mouse I could finally get a hold of a book I had been trying to get for some time. With a click of the mouse it was supposed to be in my hands within a few days.

The book was The Nightmare Factory by writer Thomas Ligotti. He came to me warmly recommended and when I finally got a hold of a short story by him I was further intrigued.

So since it hasn’t been as cold today as it has been in the past few weeks I decided to walk to the library. I took the shorter route (something I never do) bypassing the cemetery (I love walking in it), went straight to the shelf where they keep what you’ve ordered and when I finally found the books my little heart broke a little.

Still I swallowed my disappointment, borrowed the books (I won’t get into the minor problem we had with that process) and walked out where the old man selling Aluma, the magazine to support homeless people was sighing loudly at every single soul that walked passed him. They all seemed to be staring into the ground, looking slightly ashamed.

When I got home I looked into the books I did get. They are comics. There are two volumes and they are based on the book by Ligotti. The drawings are excellently (I’ve only read a couple of pages) drawn by Stuart Moore and colored by Lee Loughridge. And I’m sure on any other day I’d have been thrilled with the art that these books offer but today I’m not in such a generous mood.

Today I wanted the text of Ligotti and today I thought I was finally getting the stories, the written text. Because that is after all, more or less, what I’m all about.

There will be days after this day though. I have another book to read and if push comes to shove I can always pull Lovecraft out of my shelves.

It’s a gray day but there is always the sunshine of tomorrow (and hear this? My neighbors have gone silent!)

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Mae says:

    I’m wishing my own neighbour would quit mucking around on his/her base guitar and thumping their feet. Thin walls in townhouses means not only do I have to listen to the repetitive chords but also feel the vibrations! Grr!
    I have never heard of that author or title before. I will have to check it out.

    Like

    1. Eygló Daða says:

      It is very annoying having to deal with noisy neighbors, especially when they don’t seem to understand just how thin the walls are! 🙂

      Like

  2. E-J says:

    Why don’t I send TNF to you the next time I post our Book? I have only read a fraction of the stories in it … but in the meantime, you may as well be reading it!

    Love your photos. So glad you’ve decided to create a blog to showcase them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

