Hello world!

That’s as good a welcome phrase as any! Although I can’t see that phrase without thinking of someone special and the world of computer programing. That’s not my world though.

I’ve been a viral Internet user for a long time now. First it was an obsession, then a balanced hobby and now it’s become a thing I can’t live without. How would I pay my bills for example?

My first steps on the Internet were through the good old IRC. I still have good friends from that time although I’ve left the world of mIRC behind. Then came the IM and the blogs.

I can tell you right now that I’ve had a blog for years. It’s been a private sphere though and not something I let people into easily. When the new phenomena started to reek havoc  on the Internet things changed a little. The Internet friends I’d accumulated over the years were suddenly in a list with names of people I know in real life. People I’ve never even associated with the Internet before.

So that’s when this Internet persona (She’ was called Sith or something similar from day one – and if you know the story behind it you do otherwise… I might tell you later but it has nothing to do with Star Wars)  meets the real persona. IRL (in real life) meets IL (Internet life).

There is a lot of merging going on within me and outside of me these days. A lot of conversing, joining – hybridization if you will. I just became a dual citizen. I am now Swicelandic (or Iceledish if you prefer – Thanks Em!) with everything that comes with that. Does a person change by suddenly also belonging to another country? Probably not. I’ve lived here for ten years. I’m not about to change much because of a piece of paper (although I did nail it to my little cardboard).

Still I thought it was time to put me out there. I often don’t have anything to say but sometimes I do and this will be my voice. Everyone else is doing it and I think it’s time I put my money were my mouth is or more correctly – put my name to my words.

My name is Eygló Daða and this is my blog. Welcome!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. S says:

    Welcome yourself. 🙂

    Congrats on the blog.

    And I’ve been meaning to ask you, can you give me a hint on how to say your name?

    Like

    1. Eygló Daða says:

      I am horrible at trying to spell out sounds but I can try. Ey as in May (perhaps with a slighly sharper e sound) and gló as in glow without the v sound. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

